CFP: Doctoral Consortium Track

Doctoral Consortium Track

The Doctoral Consortium will be held on August 30, 2021.

PhD students are invited to submit their proposals for participation in a Doctoral Consortium if they are working in the areas of:
(1) adaptive web and recommender systems,
(2) social web,
(3) semantic web and NLP,
(4) human-information interaction, search, and
(5) retrieval, and digital humanities, games, and culture.

The Doctoral Consortium has the following objectives:

  • To provide valuable feedback to students on research methods and plans
  • To provide helpful guidance on students’ research directions and topics
  • To promote the development of a community of scholars that will help students in their future careers
  • To provide students with opportunities to meet and interact with experienced researchers in the aforementioned research areas.

PhD students with accepted proposals are expected to present their research at the Doctoral Consortium. We welcome submissions representing a broad spectrum of research topics relevant to the Hypertext community. Participants will benefit from the advice of senior researchers in the field and from the interaction with peers being at a similar stage of their careers.


PhD students interested in engaging in detailed discussions on their research at the Doctoral Consortium are invited to submit a 5-page paper + references (maximum) describing their thesis work and, in particular, provides clear discussions on:

  • The research problem being addressed
  • The research methodology and techniques being applied
  • The solution being proposed and its validity
  • The relation of the work to the state of the art in the research areas relevant to Hypertext

When submitting the paper, please indicate the stage of your progress within the PhD program (e.g., year of study, pre-proposal).

The submitted paper should be discussed with the students’ respective PhD supervisors before submission.

It should adhere to the submission guidelines for the Hypertext conference, available at:

Review Process

Submitted proposals will be reviewed by the Doctoral Consortium jury. The review of the reported research in each proposal will take into account its originality, its potential for advancing the Hypertext-related research, and whether the work is at a stage where the student can benefit from participating in the consortium. Rejected submissions will receive written feedback. Confidentiality of submissions will be maintained throughout the review process.

Authors will be notified of the result of their submission by July 9, 2021. Accepted doctoral candidates will receive instructions on how to submit a camera-ready copy of their proposal, and will receive information on the preparation of the presentation.

Acceptance to the Doctoral Consortium is an honour. In turn, accepted candidates are expected to fully commit themselves to the success of the consortium by being open to new ideas and suggestions and providing ideas and suggestions to other participants.

LBR & DC Deadlines

21 June 2021 | Submission deadline

9 July 2021 | Notifications

25 July 2021 | Camera-ready deadline

30 August 2021 | Consortium

Submissions should be made through EasyChair.

DC Track Chair:
Toine Bogers,
Aalborg University Copenhagen, Denmark
Twitter: @toinebogers
DC Track Co-Chair:
Nicole Basaraba,
Maastricht University, Netherlands
Twitter: @nicolebasaraba

Doctoral Consortium Programme Committee

Marguerite Bary University College Dublin Ireland
Christine Bauer Utrecht University The Netherlands
Dietmar Jannach Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt Austria
Hartmut Koenitz Trinity College Dublin / UvA / Utrecht Ireland / The Netherlands
Marijn Koolen KNAW The Netherlands
Dana McKay University of Melbourne Australia
David Millard University of Southamption UK
Cataldo Musto Università degli Studi di Bari – Aldo Moro Italy
Julia Neidhardt TU Vienna Austria
Costas Papadopoulous Maastricht University The Netherlands
Sole Pera Boise State University USA
Fernando Perez Tellez TU Dublin Ireland
Sherri Sahebi SUNY Albany USA
Jerry Spanakis Maastricht University The Netherlands
Raphaël Troncy EURECOM Francce
Karin Wenz Maastricht University The Netherlands